SS20: Evans wins in Portugal, Tänak fastest

23 maio 2021

The leading five WRC2 crews tackled the final televised special before their WRC rivals. Lappi, Suninen and Østberg confirmed the podium places and Lappi earned the maximum five bonus points for the Power Stage win. 

Attention then focused on the main protagonists challenging for the World Rally Championship. Neuville was first up and posted a potent target time of 6min 28.899sec. 

Rovanperä fell 5.263 seconds short of the Belgian as Tänak entered the spotlight. He had deliberately not taken a spare wheel on the loop to try and gain a weight advantage and the Estonian carded a superb time of 6min 27.225sec to beat his team-mate by 1.674sec.

Katsuta, Greensmith and Fourmaux confirmed fourth, fifth and sixth overall and Ogier sealed third place behind Sordo but missed out on maximum Power Stage points by 5.394 seconds. The Frenchman claimed three bonus points to maintain his lead in the World Championship. 

Evans collected a single point for finishing fifth on the Power Stage, but the Welshman’s main prize was a maiden win in Portugal and a fourth career WRC victory.

scroll up