Tänak arrives in Portugal as the fastest in the championship

16 maio 2018

Toyota’s Ott Tänak is the fastest driver in the FIA World Rally Championship this year after five rounds of the series in Monte-Carlo, Sweden, Mexico, Corsica and Argentina. The Estonian has won no less than 27 special stages out of a total of 88 (1,745.20m) and is well clear of both Thierry Neuville(Hyundai) – who was faster in 15 – and Sébastien Ogier (Ford), winner of 13.

Prior to the start of the Vodafone Rally of Portugal, Tänak – who won this year’s Rally of Argentina and finished second in Monte-Carlo and Corsica – finished in the top three on a special stage on 46 occasions out of 88, compared to 38 for Neuville and 34 for Ogier. Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai) is in fourth place with 23, tied with Esapekka Lappi (Toyota).

Outright speed on the special stages is not always synonymous with good results at the end of events, however, and Ogier continues to lead the championship. He has already taken three victories this season in Monte-Carlo, Mexico and Corsica. Hence, the Frenchman has a 10-point advantage over Neuville in the Drivers’ Championship.

2018 WRC special stage rankings

Ott Tänak (Toyota) 27 wins

Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) 15

Sébastien Ogier (Ford) 13

Kris Meeke (Citroen) 6

Esapekka Lappi (Toyota) 6

Dani Sordo (Hyundai) 5

Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai) 4

Craig Breen (Citroen) 3

Elfyn Evans (Ford) 2

Jari-Matti Latvala (Toyota) 1

scroll up